Dough Boys
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
HarperCollins, 2019.
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Format
eBook
Language
English
ISBN
9780062691835
Accelerated Reader
MG
Level 4.8, 9 Points

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Paula Chase., & Paula Chase|AUTHOR. (2019). Dough Boys . HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Paula Chase and Paula Chase|AUTHOR. 2019. Dough Boys. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Paula Chase and Paula Chase|AUTHOR. Dough Boys HarperCollins, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Paula Chase, and Paula Chase|AUTHOR. Dough Boys HarperCollins, 2019.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb91f017c-c1a4-fb56-289f-5301d01ebf2f
Full titledough boys
Authorchase paula
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2021-09-16 20:56:14PM
Last Indexed2021-09-22 03:47:31AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcehoopla
First LoadedAug 29, 2021
Last UsedAug 29, 2021

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2019
    [artist] => Paula Chase
    [fiction] => 
    [coverImageUrl] => https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062691835_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 13218700
    [isbn] => 9780062691835
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => Dough Boys
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [pages] => 352
    [children] => 1
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Paula Chase
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Adolescence & Coming of Age
            [1] => Alternative Family
            [2] => Family
            [3] => Friendship
            [4] => Juvenile Fiction
            [5] => Social Themes
        )

    [price] => 1.39
    [id] => 13218700
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => EBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => In the companion to her acclaimed So Done, Paula Chase follows best friends Simp and Rollie as their friendship is threatened by the pressures of basketball, upcoming auditions, middle school, and their growing involvement in the local drug ring.
	Dough Boys is a memorably vivid story about the complex friendship between two African American boys whose lives are heading down very different paths. For fans of Jason Reynolds's Ghost and Rebecca Stead's Goodbye Stranger.
	Deontae "Simp" Wright has big plans for his future. Plans that involve basketball, his best friend, Rollie, and making enough money to get his mom and four younger brothers out of the Cove, their low-income housing project.
	Long term, this means the NBA. Short term, it means being a dough boy-getting paid to play lookout and eventually moving up the rungs of the neighborhood drug operation with Rollie as his partner.
	Roland "Rollie" Matthews used to love playing basketball. He loved the rhythm of the game, how he came up with his best drumbeats after running up and down the court. But playing with the elite team comes with extra, illegal responsibilities, and Rollie isn't sure he's down for that life. The new talented-and-gifted program, where Rollie has a chance to audition for a real-life go-go band, seems like the perfect excuse to stop being a dough boy. But how can he abandon his best friend?
	Paula Chase explores universal themes of friendship and budding romance, while also exploring complex issues that affect many young teens. Full of basketball, friendship, and daily life in a housing project, this universal story is perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds's Track series, Jewell Parker Rhodes's Ghost Boys, and Chris Crutcher.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13218700
    [pa] => 
    [publisher] => HarperCollins
)
1